Believe it or not I can Draw.

17 Apr

Image

I felt the need to include Jean Michel Basquiat’s work in this blog because he proved to be a huge inspiration to my work during my A levels. I love Basquiats approach to work, like Pollock he almost appears to be rebelling against the art of his time, he creates loosely based drawings using colours against a black background. Basquiat’s work can look as if it took him merely minutes whilst in fact it will have taken months or years to create the final product. I think this is one of the main reasons I like him because of how it can look as if his work resembles nothing and means nothing whilst if you look hard enough there is a hidden message or something Basquiat was feeling at the time. This is something that could relate back to Surrealist movement mentioned in an earlier post.

Leave a Reply

